a recipe: daily bread 

I make a homemade something each week for munching on for breakfast and in between meals. It’s usually something carb-y and delicious. Muffins, granola, banana bread, breakfast bars, or a not-too-sweet cake when I’m feeling especially needy. Through the summer, I do my baking first thing the morning just after Mike leaves for work when the heat doesn’t seem too unbearable. The school year is upon us though, which means my baking is usually shifted to early on Saturday mornings with NPR on in the background and Mike hemming and hawing about yard work and chores that need to be done. Flour gets tossed with abandon and whatever happens to be on hand gets made into our counter decoration and snack for the week.

We lost our weekend to wedding fun, so I was feeling a little out of sorts with my routine. Something that’s hard to deal with on a normal week, let alone the very first week of school! Pebbles of granola left in the jar, snacks desperately needed for school, and feeling like I had no time to do anything about it. Truth be told, I had nearly forgotten about a new little recipe that I tried a couple weeks ago. When I remembered the jar of dough sitting in the fridge waiting to be made into a loaf of cinnamon bread, my mood brightened considerably. It brought me right out of my snack-less, breakfast-less funk. This recipe can be played with a lot. I went with a cinnamon sugar mixture folded in, but rosemary and sundried tomatoes could be mixed in for a dinner loaf instead. The bread will still come moist and delicious.

DAILY BREAD, adapted from here

Makes 4-5 loaves of bread, depending on the size you choose. 

What you need:

  • 3 cups warm water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons yeast
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 6 1/2 cups flour

What to do:

+ Pour the water into a large bowl. I chose to use a large storage jar.

+ Add the yeast, and then the salt to the water. Mix well.

+ Add the flour and mix thoroughly with a wooden spoon.

+ Leave the bread dough in the bowl and cover loosely. Let rise for 2 hours, or until doubled.

+ The dough can now be stored in the fridge, covered loosely (I used a coffee filter with a rubber band) for 2-3 weeks, or you can use the dough to make a loaf of bread immediately.

+ If making immediately, remove however much you would like to make and knead with floured hands for about a minute on a floured surface. Now would also be the time to add any mix-ins you would like to the dough.

+ Shape the dough and place in your parchment paper lined baking vessel. Cover loosely and let rise for another 20-30 minutes while the oven preheats at 450 degrees.

+ Bake for 30 minutes at 450.

+ Remove from the oven when nicely browned and sounds hollow when tapped on the underside. Cool on a rack and then enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

